NEW YORK STATE OF MIND

It’s not just a city, it’s an attitude

NEW ENGLAND ROAD TRIP (August 24 – August 26) 30 August 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — Adam @ 1:13 am

r4d-bostonrob.jpg164935__new_kids_l.jpg

“Assumption is the mother of all f*ck ups”… a word of advice a work colleague once gave me. Our first U.S. road trip was littered with “assumptions”. A key one being that each party mistakenly assumed the other had packed the road-map and travel guides. So, armed with no map and no travel guide, we set off on our road trip. Luckily, we invested in a GPS tracking system which turned out to be both a friend and a foe. On paper, the plan looked simple enough: New York to Lenox (to see JT) then onto Boston followed by stops at Cape Cod, Newport, Providence, New Haven and back to New York. Turns out that thinking we could fit all that in was another one of those problem “assumptions”.We managed to find our way out of Manhattan just fine, and had no problem driving to Lenox where we saw James Taylor (please refer to immediately preceding blog entry). We stayed the night there and set off for Boston on Saturday morning. GPS technology is amazing. It knows where you are and takes you to exactly where you want to be. This is “assuming” of course that you input the details of your destination correctly. We (more specifically, Adam) entered the address for the Boston hotel with the wrong zip code. This resulted in the GPS taking us to the Boston backstreet “hoods” where we sat wondering why our 4-star hotel was a run-down old mechanic shop on the rough side of town. After a short panic, we eventually found the real hotel.

Boston .. the “Beantown Land”. Home to the Red Sox, Harvard University, Boston Rob from Survivor and New Kids on the Block (which explains the above pictures). After spending two months in New York, a few observations were readily apparent. Boston is like the smaller, educated, softly-spoken little brother of New York City. I can imagine him dressed in a Polo shirt, with a sweater casually sitting over his shoulders and wrinkle-free beige chinos. Our first encounter with a Bostonian occurred as we were fumbling with a map, trying to find our way to the start of the popular “Freedom Trail” walk. “Do you need help?” asked the Bostonian. My gut New York reaction was, “Why? What do you want for it? My left kidney?”. Alas, no bodily organs were required. The man just wanted to be helpful. Weirdo.
With Boston being one of the most historically significant towns in US history, the Freedom Trail is like an all-day history lesson. It was like “follow the red brick road” to places such as the Boston Massacre site, the historic market halls, and graves of important men such as Samuel Adams.

Beforehand we read that the Freedom Trail will “move you to tears”. Perhaps that might have been so for Americans, but for a couple of Aussies who unfortunately chose to do the trail on a record hot 94 degree Boston afternoon, the only moisture our bodies were moved to create was drip-sweat. Despite the heat, it was a great way to see the different areas of Boston, and I was quite impressed at how pretty the city was.

As for the rest of our anticipated stops – Cape Cod, Newport, Providence, New Haven… what can I say? They looked great from the freeway during the 12 HOUR drive back home. Listening to Adam sing the 80’s soundtrack of his high school years (i.e. the dark ages) all the way home was also a pleasant experience.

P.S. Looking for great sing-along road trip music? Try the “Music & Lyrics” soundtrack – particularly “Pop! Goes My Heart” by Hugh Grant .. its gold! And the video is tragically 80’s inspired. Check it out!

-Posted by Trinh

 

40 Responses to “NEW ENGLAND ROAD TRIP (August 24 – August 26)”

  1. Mona Says:

    Ha ha ha, great post Trinh. It’s not about the destination but the journey, right? I still say Boston Rob looked better on the island when he was hairy, dirty and ten kilos lighter! Loved the clip … although I’m a bit concerned that while the clip parodied 80s fashion, I was wearing the exact same outfit as Hugh Grant (frilly shirt under a black vest) in the 90s.

  2. Trinh Says:

    Thanks Mona. I was in love with New Kids on the Block into the 90’s. I think that snippet of embarrassing information beats your frilly shirt.

  3. Trinh Says:

    I shall now hang my head in shame.

  4. Mason Hell-Cat Says:

    so guys….why didn’t you include a trip to Vermont in your New England experience? seriously, you should consider a trip there. And if you ever make it to a tiny ski-town by the name of Stowe, tell em Mason sent ya.

    (and you may be shot….)

  5. Livie Says:

    I love Music and Lyrics! I watched it a couple of weeks ago it’s awesome!!! Mum was cracking up when it started

  6. Mason Hell-Cat Says:

    she should really get that checked out ya know?

  7. Livie Says:

    ???? please speak ENGLISH….. you understand????

  8. masonhellcat Says:

    i just mean the cracking up thing. that sounds like a serious medical problem.

  9. click here Says:

    Do youve got a spam concern on this site; I also am a blogger, and I was asking yourself your situation; weve created some nice techniques and we are searching to trade solutions with other people, be certain to shoot me an e-mail if planning to pursue.

  10. Jesus Christ there is a great deal of spammy feedback on this webpage. Have you ever before believed about attempting to eliminate them or putting in a tool?

  11. this month Says:

    I have got 1 idea for your web page. It seems like there are a handful of cascading stylesheet issues while launching a selection of webpages inside google chrome as well as opera. It is operating fine in internet explorer. Possibly you can double check that.

  12. account Says:

    Do youve got a spam issue on this web site; I also am a blogger, and I was questioning your scenario; weve got developed some great approaches and were looking to exchange solutions with other individuals, be sure to shoot me an e-mail if planning to pursue.

  13. This is often a amazing site, would you be interested in doing an interview regarding just how you produced it? If so e-mail myself!

  14. The design for the web site is a little bit off in Epiphany. Nevertheless I like your blog. I might have to install a normal web browser just to enjoy it.

  15. rather beneficial stuff, all round I imagine this is worthy of a bookmark, many thanks

  16. Just to let you know your webpage appears a little bit strange in Firefox on my computer with Linux .

  17. Re: The person who produced the statement that this was a good site truly needs to possess their head examined.

  18. I believe one of your ads triggered my internet browser to resize, you might well need to get that on your blacklist.

  19. webaddress Says:

    I feel one of your ads initiated my internet browser to resize, you might well want to get that on your blacklist.

  20. buy fridge freezer Says:

    I Am Going To have to visit again whenever my course load lets up – nevertheless I am getting your Rss feed so i could go through your blog offline. Thanks.

  21. Oh man. This site is cool! How can I make it look this good !

  22. Weird , your site shows up with a black hue to it, what shade is the primary color on your web-site?

  23. When I open up your Rss feed it seems to be a ton of nonsense, is the problem on my side?

  24. It seems to me that this site doesnt load up in a Motorola Droid. Are other folks getting the same issue? I enjoy this site and dont want to have to miss it any time Im away from my computer.

  25. like i said Says:

    Strange , this post shows up with a dark hue to it, what color is the primary color on your web-site?

  26. The design for your blog is a bit off in Epiphany. Nevertheless I like your blog. I may need to use a normal web browser just to enjoy it.

  27. It seems to me that this site doesnt load up on a Motorola Droid. Are other folks getting the exact same issue? I enjoy this website and dont want to have to miss it any time Im away from my computer.

  28. Even though I actually like this publish, I believe there was an punctuational error shut towards the end from the third paragraph.

  29. this month Says:

    Just to let you know your web-site looks a little bit different on Firefox on my computer with Linux .

  30. Is it alright to place part of this in my personal web site if I submit a reference to this website?

  31. It appears to me that this site doesnt load up on a Motorola Droid. Are other folks having the exact same issue? I enjoy this web site and dont want to have to miss it whenever Im gone from my computer.

  32. I Am Going To have to come back again whenever my course load lets up – however I am taking your Feed so i can go through your blog offline. Cheers.

  33. Just to let you know your web page looks a little bit strange in Firefox on my netbook using Linux .

  34. An interesting blog post right there mate ! Cheers for it !

  35. Whenever I at first commented I clicked on the Notify me whenever new comments are added checkbox and now each time a remark is added I receive four email messages with the identical comment.

  36. I Will have to return again when my course load lets up – nonetheless I am taking your Rss feed so i can go through your site offline. Thanks.

  37. I was basically curious about if you ever thought of modifying the design of your site? It is well written; I really like what you have got to state. But maybe you can add a a bit more in the way of written content so people can connect to it better. You have got an awful lot of wording for only having one or two photographs. Maybe you can space it out better?

  38. mlm Says:

    I experimented with taking a look at your blog in my blackberry and the design does not seem to be right. Might wanna check it out on WAP as well as it seems most cell phone layouts are not working with your web page.

  39. powered by Says:

    Can you email me with some pointers about how you made your site look this good, I would appreciate it!

  40. If you could email me with some hints on how you made your site look this awesome , Id be thankful.


Leave a Reply

