NEW YORK STATE OF MIND

It’s not just a city, it’s an attitude

Day 1. The Faystar Arrives… 23 July 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — Adam @ 8:15 pm

After 22 hours of sheer agony on board the aircraft of death, I finally arrived here in New York completely shaken and a little stirred. It was great to see Trinh after a month apart and might I add, she is looking damn fine! Far from the delicate flower that I saw 4 weeks ago, she is now an independent and sassy New York high flyer. She showed me around our great little apartment and took me to the roof of the complex which was so awesome that I almost spun around and broke out into Sinatra tunes. Great view of the city.

For those that don’t know, we are situated in Chelsea. It’s about a 10 minute walk to times square, just around the corner from the Empire State Building…..infact, I have a view of the Empire State from my desk in the apartment where I write now. Yep, pretty darn cool huh?

Unfortunately, only an hour or so after arriving last night I was told that my Grandmother had passed away. She died peacefully surrounded by family. She was a remarkable woman who had a long and eventful life. I really admired her and will miss her. I’m upset that I won’t be able to attend the funeral, but I’ll of course be thinking of her. I suppose all I can do is dedicate this small space to Iris Hassard. A great woman.

After being told how hot and sunny it has been in New York recently, I woke up today to the sound of pouring rain. Go figure. It’s ok though, it has given me a chance to get settled and mourn a little. Going to hit Greenwich Village tonight and have dinner somewhere. Should be great.

-Posted by Adam

 

9 Responses to “Day 1. The Faystar Arrives…”

  1. Mason Hell-Cat Says:

    Dude, very sorry to hear about your Grandma. Terrible news.

    —–

    So tell us more about the “aircraft of death”. What made it so deathly? What films did you see? Tell us some humourous stories about waiting in line for the toilets.

  2. faystar Says:

    Ah Maso, I knew you’d be first to comment. You never let me down buddy. Bless ya. Thanks for the kind words.
    I watched “Zodiac” on the plane…damn fine film. I also watched another called, “The Grizzly Crash Of Qantas Flight 107″…not so good. Rather a strange film to play on a qantas flight I thought.
    As for humourous stories about toilet lines, there’s nothing humourous about being in line behind a sweaty overweight flatulant man with a hairy back who kept turning to me and saying, “boy, that chicken we were served for lunch went straight thru me.”

  3. Mason Hell-Cat Says:

    haha!! And he’s off!!

  4. faystar Says:

    thankyou, thankyou…I’ll be here all week folks. Take my wife…please! Boom boom!

  5. Leeflang Says:

    Faystar….Just got around to reading your blog….first up, as young Mason said, sorry to hear about your Grandma….damn shame….not sure if I ever met her….which is crazy considering how long I’ve known you….anyways….
    Glad to hear ya flight didn’t go down in the Himalayas, because I wasn’t looking forward to chartering a helicopter and staging that rescue mission, and then finding you’d turned cannibal on us….
    OK…I’m off to reply to your other posts…
    Later.
    Wadrick.

  6. faystar Says:

    Wadrick old pal! Nice to hear from you.
    Geez, I’m glad the plane didn’t go down in the Himalayas too. Apart from anything else, it would have meant it was wildly off course. If you saw some of the freaks on my plane you wouldn’t have worried about me going cannibal on you. I’m picky about who I eat.
    Keep those posts coming buddy! Lovin it.

  7. Leeflang Says:

    True….you would have been WAY off course….which would have made the rescue mission that much more difficult….
    Hey, ya didn’t tell me ya branched out into electronics….http://www.faystar.com.tw/

  8. faystar Says:

    I’m a man of many talents. The Faystar name is a global phenomenon.

  9. Dags Says:

    Sorry Fay but I’m a little slow to get to this one, but you would already know that ! At least they didn’t show you Air Crash Investigation on the plane. When boarding on my flight I noticed that the plane had a great big dent or gash right above the tail wings which worried me a little, but I soon forgot about it.
    Dags


Leave a Reply

